Your Parish Council

Your Parish Council consists of twelve elected councillors, six each from the two wards within the Parish, Madron Ward and Gulval Ward.

All the councillors are volunteers and unpaid and are supported by a salaried Parish Clerk.

The Council meets on the first Thursday of each month, with meetings alternating between Landithy Hall in Madron village and Trythall School in Newmill.

The Council is a member of The Cornwall Association of Local Councils (CALC) which is affiliated to the National Association of Local Councils (NALC).

The Council is responsible for providing local services such as the cutting of footpaths and bridleways and receives its primary income in grants from Cornwall Council.

It is a consultee on planning applications but not a decider.

The parish has a population of 1,569 (2011 census) and an electorate of 1,195 (Dec 2018).